Reading “Irish”

iloveit

Another project for my advertisement class. This time we were asked to make the book cover for our would-be-self-authored book (if ever we decided to make one). I entitled my book “Confessions of a Smitten Soul”, which was the same name I have been using for all my personal accounts.

At first, I though it would be easy for me to come up with a book cover. I have already read a lot of books, so inspirations wouldn’t be that hard. That was what I thought. Later on, I found myself asking this main question, “how will I make sure that my book would sell?”

Like what my Adver Prof told us, it’s not always true that people don’t judge a book by its cover (literally speaking). Most people would really look at the book cover first. If they liked what they saw, then there’s a chance that they would read the synopsis. If they loved the synopsis, then there’s a higher chance that they will buy the book; unless, of course, your already a well-established author or your book is already popular.

In my case, while I was doing my book cover, I have to first imagine myself as a brand–a new brand in the market.

  • To whom do I want to sell my book or who would be my potential readers? (target audience)
  • How will I make my readers buy it just by looking at the cover? (strategies and tactics)
  • How will I design my book to stand out from the others categorized in Biography? (unique selling proposition)

Well I’m not entirely sure if my thoughts were reflected on what I did, and I wouldn’t have a way to find out since I wouldn’t really be selling a book. In the end, though, I learned and gained a new respect for Book Illustrators, who were most of the time taken for granted. So, next time that I would buy a book, I would probably take the time to know about the artist behind the book cover.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Alps said,

    Good job on thinking about the “selling part” of your “book”. Most authors leave that part behind and just sell it to bookstores (Mass Com Perspective). Oh I just love being an Organizational Communication undergraduate! 😀

  2. 2

    irishprecious said,

    i know. i really had fun doing my book cover even though it was kinda hard at first to come up with a design and name.

  3. 3

    Lloyd said,

    ayos! apir! 🙂 sana lahat ng book lovers magkaruon din ng realization na katulad ng sayo^^,. lht ng book illustrations ay ng dadaan sa masusing pag-kokonsepto at hindi yun madali.. kaya sana maappreciate nila^^,

    • 4

      irishprecious said,

      right. 🙂 im sure being a fine art student yourself, you share the same sentiments with the book illustrators whenever they need to come up with a piece.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

