Orcom and I

The Dream.
I always knew that I would take on the Communications field ever since I started to understand the meaning of the what-do-you-want-to-be-when-you-grow-up question. I remember I used to say that I wanted to be a teacher with English or Speech as my major. And here I am now, not exactly an Education Major, but still heading the course I registered in my mind when I was a kid.
The Path.
Organizational Communication is the course I learned to love and appreciate more and more through time. I’ve been on it for four years now, still surviving and struggling all at the same time. Admittedly, though, it was not what I originally had in mind. I wanted to take up Broadcast Communication in UP Diliman, but I was not successful getting in. Fortunately, UP Manila opened its door for me; consequently, opening a greater opportunity for me.
Frustrations.
My first year in the course was not exactly a joy ride. I had hard times adjusting, not with the people, but with the courses themselves. I met a lot of frustrations along the way. UP Manila, Orcom in particular, made me realize how much more there is for me to learn. It took me a while before I fully realized that my highschool skills were not that much of a help. I have to stop hanging on to them.
Doubts.
I came to a point wherein I really questionned my place in the course. Am I really meant for Orcom? I remember being really disappointed everytime I would receive my checked writeups full of red marks and scraped parts, quiz results with failing grades, or everytime I would stutter while delivering my speech. I used to think all those were indicators how I made a mistake in pursuing the course.
The Light.
I stayed, obviously. And was glad that I did. It would have been an even greater mistake if I let go of the course. Through time, slowly and carefully, I found my way through the course. It started with accepting that mistakes are inevitable, and that I should not really make so much of a big deal out of them. I dropped the GC mode, and concentrated more than what grades and numbers can offer and prove to me. I started looking at the other opportunities and brighter sides Orcom can offer me. And on the second sem of my second year in Orcom, that was exactly the period when I learned to embrace Orcom and everything that comes with it.
Present.
Few months from now, I would be graduating from Orcom (hopefully). The pressure was on, all the works are piling up, more sleepless nights are expected, more dreaded defense and reports are waiting. Orcom never eased up on us, but I still don’t mind. I am happy with how I am doing right now. I may never take home a Cum Laude Medal anymore, as what I initially hoped for, but I wouldn’t say that I wasted my stay in the course and didn’t make the most of it. I know I did. And I know that there will still be more opportunity in the future for me to prove that.

The Dream

I always knew that I would take on the Communications field ever since I started to understand the meaning of the what-do-you-want-to-be-when-you-grow-up question. I remember I used to say that I wanted to be a teacher with English or Speech as my major. And here I am now, not exactly an Education Major, but still heading the course I registered in my mind when I was a kid.

The Path

Organizational Communication is the course I learned to love and appreciate more and more through time. I’ve been on it for four years now, still surviving and struggling all at the same time. Admittedly, though, it was not what I originally had in mind. I wanted to take up Broadcast Communication in UP Diliman, but I was not successful getting in. Fortunately, UP Manila opened its door for me; consequently, opening a greater opportunity for me.

Frustrations

My first year in the course was not exactly a joy ride. I had hard times adjusting, not with the people, but with the courses themselves. I met a lot of frustrations along the way. UP Manila, Orcom in particular, made me realize how much more there is for me to learn. It took me a while before I fully realized that my highschool skills were not that much of a help. I have to stop hanging on to them.

Doubts

I came to a point wherein I really questionned my place in the course. Am I really meant for Orcom? I remember being really disappointed everytime I would receive my checked writeups full of red marks and scraped parts, quiz results with failing grades, or everytime I would stutter while delivering my speech. I used to think all those were indicators how I made a mistake in pursuing the course.

The Light

I stayed, obviously. And was glad that I did. It would have been an even greater mistake if I let go of the course. Through time, slowly and carefully, I found my way through the course. It started with accepting that mistakes are inevitable, and that I should not really make so much of a big deal out of them. I dropped the GC mode, and concentrated more than what grades and numbers can offer and prove to me. I started looking at the other opportunities and brighter sides Orcom can offer me. And on the second sem of my second year in Orcom, that was exactly the period when I learned to embrace Orcom and everything that comes with it.

Present

Few months from now, I would be graduating from Orcom (hopefully).

dare.gang

The pressure was on, all the works are piling up, more sleepless nights are expected, more dreaded defense and reports are waiting. Orcom never eased up on us, but I still don’t mind. I am happy with how I am doing right now. I may never take home a Cum Laude Medal anymore, as what I initially hoped for, but I wouldn’t say that I wasted my stay in the course and didn’t make the most of it. I know I did. And I know that there will still be more opportunity in the future for me to prove that.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    barrycade said,

    When i look back to my student years in OrCom (which was not too long ago of course! haha) i realized that getting 1.0’s wasn’t the most exciting thing. It was the whole experience of being an OrCom student in UPM–3.0’s and failures included. 🙂

    • 2

      irishprecious said,

      yes, i realized that, too. 😀 now, i don’t dwell that much on getting uno’s, im just enjoying and making the most out of my stay in orcom.

  2. 3

    aLps said,

    Pressure, a lot of pressure on the Silver Batch!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

