Googled

Last time in my OC 152 Class, we talked about how companies should regularly update their reputations online. It is very helpful since they can easily find out what their customers or consumers are saying about them or their services; plus, it’s very easy to do. You just Google your company’s name, and in an instant all the comments, forums, or other posts about your company will appear. If your company or product has a lot of negative comments online, then there’s a serious need for improving your services. On the other hand, if there’s nothing posted about your company online, then you can use this opportunity to start an online reputation. It’s very convenient since almost all customers are dependent on the Internet for information they need about a certain product. At the same time, you have an option to join and connect with these people online, which is also one way of making sure you don’t lose customers. This is one way of using the new social media for your own advantage.

On a personal level, it’s also fun to look out for your own online reputation. Again, just type your name and you’ll be able to see every related posts online about you; cool. Maybe for most people, especially the younger ones, it really wouldn’t matter whatever the results are when they type their name in Google. Most likely, it will just be their online accounts they will see, anyway. Personal online reputations, however, shouldn’t be taken very lightly. Just like those companies that need to establish a good reputation online, it is also important for individuals to have their own. We learned in class that some employers now like to check their applicants’ background online. This gives them another set of details and descriptions about that person that is not written on their resumes. It’s kind of scary actually when you initially think of it. Your privacy will be no longer safe online. The more reason why there is a need to check on it.

That’s what I’m trying to do right now- working on my online reputation. I don’t actually need to set-up a reputation online anymore. I already know, even before, that there are results when I type my name, which is also an evidence of how much time I spend doing stuff online. What I want to do now is to establish a more credible reputation online. This blog account is a good start (credits to our professor for this project). Just so to make it clear, I don’t really have a negative reputation online, it’s just that most of the results about me are my personal posts online. By personal, I mean really personal stuff: not for public consumption. I don’t want a reputation online that would describe me as a whiny girl, who thinks that she has all the problems in the world.

I’m just glad that right now whenever I would type my usual online name, “irishprecious”, my blog entries in this account are the top hits. That’s already an achievement. You should have seen the old hits whenever I type my name. It’s like I’m already opening my soul to everyone. Some of those personal posts are still present, the more reason for me to cover them with more sensible stuff about me.

onlinerep

padayon

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    barrycade said,

    try Googling your full name, as it appears in your resume. see what comes up πŸ™‚

    agree with your point that we must all actively work on our online reputation and manage it. doing so helps you work on a company’s online reputation later.

  2. 2

    aLps said,

    I thought that your personal blog would be as private as a nun’s knits!

    Now I see, you love to open up. πŸ˜‰


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

